2-X1 District’s recognition of “special lions” (Grass Roots Lions) was begun in 1985 by PCC John Eads who realized the need to acknowledge the “WE SERVE” attitude and the actions of deserving Lions for their unheralded lionistic work within their clubs, community, and lionism. The “Grass Roots Lion” Award is designed to recognize a Club’s “up and coming” Lion who has been a lion for just five years or less, but has been exemplary to the spirit of lionism through deeds and service to others. This is a recognition designed to honor a Lion who has not been so honored by the District previously. Around the Annual Convention of the District, the Lions Clubs are required to send, in the prescribed Form to the District 2-X1, its nomination of a ‘new deserving lion’ as its Grass Roots Lion. The Grass Roots Lion Award ceremony is held at a special function, as part of the District Convention.



The “DR.R.A.‘DICK’ SELF AWARD”, (a Rolling Trophy) named in honor of Past International Director Dr. Richard A. ‘Dick’ Self, is annually presented by the District Governor to the Lions Club deemed to be the most outstanding Club in the Lions District 2-X1 for that year. Dr. Self, a charter member of Dallas Oak Cliff Lions Club, served as its President in 1942-43 and was the District Governor of District 2X in 1951-52. Lion “Dick” Self was elected to a two-year term on the LCI Board of Directors, serving 1954-1956. Dr. Self was selected by his peers to the Texas Lions Hall of Fame in 1972.


Given below is the list of clubs that were selected as THE CLUB OF THE YEAR and presented with the Rolling Trophy:

Year Awarded Club of the Year Presented by DG
2017 – 2018 Irving Noon Day Henry White
2016 – 2017 Dallas Everest Bill Smothermon
2015 – 2016 Coppell Kathleen Tyre
2014 – 2015 Dallas Oak Cliff Ken Gleason
2013 – 2014 Plano Early Lions Club Darla Wisdom
2012 – 2013 Coppell Lions Club Ken Gleason
2011 – 2012 Royse City Lions Club John Landrum
2010 – 2011 Irving DFW Indian Lions Club Dan Busdiecker
2009 – 2010 Greenville Lions Club Mark Green
2008 – 2009 Dallas Filipino Lions Club Alice Conway
2007 – 2008 Ennis Host Lions Club Wallace Roberts
2006 – 2007 Dallas Oak Cliff Lions Club Carolyn Dorman
2005 – 2006 Forney Lions Club Kathy Fletcher
2004 – 2005 Irving DFW Indian Lions Club Pat Jones
2003 – 2004 Dallas Park Cities Lions Club Wayne Meachum
2002 – 2003 Carrollton Evening Lions Club Frank Pickens II
2001 – 2002 Cedar Hill Lions Club Skip Johnson
2000 – 2001 Irving DFW Indian Lions Julia Johnson
1999 – 2000 Garland Host Lions Club Jim Bob Wilson
1998 – 1999 Dallas Metro Lions Club Randall Morris
1997 – 1998 Greenville Lions Club Dale Massey
1996 – 1997 Duncanville Noon Lions Club Robert Lange
1995 – 1996 Dallas Indian Lions Club A. K. Mago
1994 – 1995 Plano Early Lions Club Barbara Babcock
1993 – 1994 Dallas Indian Lions Club Don Johnson
1992 – 1993 Carrolton Evening Lions Club Robert Morris
1991 – 1992 Rowlett Lions Club Norwood Brenneke
1990 – 1991 Dallas Skyline Lions Club William Weston, Jr.
1989 – 1990 Dallas Filipino Lions Club Joe Montag
1988 – 1989 Dallas Oak Cliff Lions Club Wes Jesperson
1987 – 1988 Forney Lions Club Rex Coppedge
1986 – 1987 Plano Early Lions Club Martin Reese
1985 – 1986 Dallas Chinese Lions Club John Eads



Each year the District Governor is tasked with identifying outstanding Lions that have given extraordinary commitment to better the mission of Lionism and in service to their community. They are awarded the Lion of the Year honors at the District Convention are are recognized by all for their efforts. Below is the roll call of those Lions, as best as could be ascertained. If there are additions, please submit them to the IT staff.

Year Lion of the Year District Governor
2017-2018 Christy Householter Henry White
2016-2017 A.P.Haridas Billy Smothermom
2015-2016 Rita Claxton
Richard Burns
Kathleen Tyre
2014-2015 Billy Ketner Ken Gleason
2013-2014 Danny Fletcher Darla Wisdom
2012 – 2013 Fred Conger
Henry White
Ken Gleason
2011 – 2012 John Joy John Landrum
2010 – 2011 Kathleen Tyre Dan Busdiecker
2009 – 2010 Don Ables Mark Dean
2008 – 2009 Neal Roach Alice Conway
2007 – 2008 Linda Bryant Wallace Roberts
2006 – 2007 A. P. Hardas Carolyn Dorman
2005 – 2006 Fred Smith Kathy Fletcher
2004 – 2005 Nancy Rule Pat Jones
2003 – 2004 Danny Fletcher Wayne Meachum
2002 – 2003 Tommie Worthy Frank Pickens II
2001 – 2002 Bill Harbour Skip Johnson
2000 – 2001 Roy Chirayil Julia Johnson
1998 – 1999 Troy Johnson Randall Morris
1993 – 1994 Sunil Mainl Don Johnson
1982 – 1983 Mack Pierson Charlie Norwood